WHS Remote Control With Vista Home

November 15, 2007 at 9:00 am 8 comments

Post moved to www.spasticon.com

Entry filed under: WHS.

Laggate: London More Leg Problems

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. David  |  January 8, 2008 at 3:51 am

    Hello Ted,

    Thanks for the great tip. I only have one problem. When the Vista Home premium PC reboots or goes to sleep it loses its connection with WHS. When it reconnects afterwards the registry entry is reset. I’m looking how that can be fixed, but haven’t found a solution yet. Do you have an idea ?

    greetings,

    David

    Reply
  • 2. tkieffer  |  January 8, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    I haven’t been experiencing that problem, but I suppose if you knew the registry entry you could export it and just add the .reg file to your startup folder.

    Kinda low-tech but it should work.

    Reply
  • 3. David  |  January 14, 2008 at 7:05 am

    Hi Ted,

    I changed the registry entry HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE

    \Microsoft\Windows Home
    Server\Transport\Clients\{id for client machine}]

    on the WHS.

    That entry is reset when the Vista PC reboots, not when the WHS reboots. So adding a .reg file in the startup of the WHS wouldn’t help much.

    But thanks for the tip.

    Reply
  • 4. tkieffer  |  January 14, 2008 at 8:54 am

    Oh weird. So you’re saying that when the Vista PC resets the registry entry on the WHS server is reset?

    Hmm.

    Reply
  • 5. David  |  January 15, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    Yep, thats correct. Don’t you have that problem?

    Reply
  • 6. tomcat7  |  February 7, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    I have had the same problem. Either way, I cannot get the remote access to work via the web page both locally and remotely with WHS. If I just log into a remote desktop session on the Vista Premium machine, it works fine.

    Reply
  • 7. superswiss  |  February 21, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    I gotta try this. Not being able to remote into Vista Home Premium through WHS is one of the biggest irks of the product and I fail to understand why installing the WHS connector on a Vista Home machine doens’t enable RDP. I mean seriously! The target customer for WHS is the same as for Vista Home and Vista Premium and Remote Access is one of the key features that they highlight in WHS, but a target customer has to shell out another $150 on top of WHS to upgrade to Vista Ultimate in order to use a feature that was paid for by buying WHS. I do not get this one at all.

    Reply
  • 8. Ken Gilgore  |  March 7, 2008 at 10:54 am

    I used the hacks to access Vista Home Premium from my WHS box. It worked fine until I rebooted. “Operating system not supported”.

    I redid the registery entries and then exported them to the WHS desktop. When I reboot WHS I just click on the registry shortcut and Vista is now supported.

    Cool

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 6,080 hits

